Key West Film Festival Announces the Fourth Annual “Golden Key for Costume Design”

The Two Gay Geeks received this press release for our friends at EG PR about the fourth annual Key West Film Festival. We would love to be able to attend because this looks like a fascinating film festival with an emphasis on costume design.

There will be more information going soon.

Let us know what you think about this post in the comments section below. As always, we welcome your feedback and input on all of our published content. Thank you.





New York, NY — October, 2019 — The Key West Film Festival announced today its fourth annual Costume Design Focus program, honoring Academy Award®-nominated costume designer Arianne Phillips.

Phillips’ most recent work is on display in Sony Pictures’ and Quentin Tarantino’s Once Upon a Time in Hollywood. She has received Oscar® nominations for her artistry in Walk the Line and W.E. and multiple nominations for BAFTA, Tony and Costume Design Guild Awards via her work in the Broadway production of Hedwig and the Angry Inch and Tom Ford’s A Single Man. The Festival will present Phillips with its Golden Key for Excellence in Costume Design award, to honor her versatile talents, which have been showcased in everything from period costume dramas to superhero blockbusters.

Phillips will also participate in a discussion of her work, to be moderated by Eric Kohn, Executive Editor and Chief Critic of Indiewire and co-host of the weekly ScreenTalk podcast with Anne Thompson.

The discussion will be followed by a screening of A Single Man on the 10th anniversary of its release as a showcase for Phillips’ work.

The Award will be presented via satellite by Dr. Deborah Nadoolman Landis. Dr. Landis, a Costume Design Governor of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences and an Academy Award®-nominee, presented the first annual career achievement award for costume design in 2016 to Mary Zophres, who went on to receive an Oscar® nomination for her work in La La Land, and to the last two year’s honorees, Mark Bridges, who won the 2018 Oscar® for Best Costume Design for The Phantom Thread, and Alexandra Byrne, who’s work in Mary Queen of Scots was recognized by an Academy Award nomination.

Michael Tuckman, Director of Programming of the Key West Film Festival, commented “The time and place that Tarantino captured in Once Upon a Time in Hollywood could not have been accomplished without the true artistry and beauty of the costumes that transported us all back in time and gave the film an authenticity like no other. Arianne Phillips is a master of design and we are thrilled to be able to honor and showcase her work.”

Visit for full program information – which will be announced on October 30, along with a schedule of events and travel and lodging details.


The Key West Film Festival — where passion meets paradise — is an annual celebration of contemporary cinema in a historically rich, artistically vibrant, and culturally diverse island community.

KWFF strives to showcase the best of Florida filmmaking talent, while highlighting visiting filmmakers and industry leaders through discussions and workshops, with access to some of the biggest names in the film business. The festival also looks to support the next generation of local student filmmakers with scholarships and other key awards.

The Festival’s Critics Focus program, enhanced with the juried Critics’ Prize, together with the Costume Design Focus, marks the Key West Film Festival as a vital stop on the awards season’s fall festival circuit, with programs designed to support film criticism and craft while giving audiences greater context and perspective through public conversations guided by expert voices. Key publications represented in KWFF Critic’s Focus program and Critic’s Prize at the festival include: Los Angeles Times,, Rolling Stone, Indiewire, Vanity Fair, Washington Post, TimeOut NY, and more.

Past guests have included: Burt Reynolds, John Waters, Mariel Hemingway, Harmony Korine, Marisa Tomei, Paul Haggis, Alan Cumming, Sebastian Junger, Tom Berenger, Paul Verhoeven, Billy Corben, Terry George, Corey Glover, Steven Bauer, Anson Mount, Celia Weston, Angus MacLachlan, Judy Blume, Ondi Timoner, Bob Wisdom, Val Lauren, Anne O’Shea, Lois Smith, Mark Bridges and many more.

We welcome your comments and feedback below. If this is your first visit, be sure to read the Privacy / Terms and Conditions Of Use. And Please, Play Nice.

Thanks for visiting. Let us know what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.